The Institute for Information Infrastructure Protection—the I3P—is a national consortium of leading academic institutions, national laboratories and non-profit research organizations. Since its founding in 2002, the I3P has been a cornerstone in the coordination of cyber security research and development. The I3P brings together researchers, government officials, and industry representatives to address cyber security challenges threatening the nation’s critical infrastructures.


Drawing from its member institutions, the I3P assembles multi-disciplinary and multi-institutional research teams able to bring in-depth analysis to complex and pressing problems. Research outcomes are shared at I3P-sponsored workshops, professional conferences and peer-reviewed journals, as well as via technology transfer to end-users. The I3P also supports programs to promote education and public awareness.

Dedicated to protecting the nation’s information infrastructure—the digital communications networks and the information they transmit—the I3P:

  • promotes innovative thinking on current and future challenges
  • sponsors peer-reviewed research on critical topics
  • informs business, industry, and government stakeholders of research findings
  • gathers data and provides analysis to support decision-making by businesses and government agencies
  • transfers security tools and solutions to end-users
  • provides a long-term perspective on cyber security needs and vulnerabilities
  • educates the next generation of cyber security experts

The I3P was formed in response to several government assessments of the U.S. information infrastructure’s susceptibility to catastrophic failure. The first study, published in 1998 by the U.S. President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), recommended that a nongovernmental organization be formed to address national cyber security issues. Subsequent studies–by the Institute for Defense Analyses, as well as a white paper jointly produced by the National Security Council and the Office of Science and Technology Policy–agreed with the PCAST assessment, affirming the need for an organization dedicated to protecting the nation’s critical infrastructures.

In 2002, the I3P was founded at Dartmouth College, with a grant from the federal government. Since its inception, the I3P has:

  • coordinated a national cyber security research and development program;
  • built informational and research bridges among academic, industrial and government stakeholders; and
  • developed and delivered technologies to address an array of vulnerabilities

Funding for the I3P has come from various sources, including the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the National Science Foundation (NSF).

After leading the I3P since 2003, Dartmouth Senior Vice Provost for Research Martin Wybourne announced his plan to step down as chair. Dartmouth and the I3P Executive Committee launched a competitive process and selected GW as the next host of the institute. On October 1, 2015 the George Washington University became the new host of the I3P. GW manages the I3P in collaboration with SRI International, an original member of the consortium. Diana Burley, professor of human and organizational learning in GW’s Graduate School of Education and Human Development, was named the I3P’s new executive director and chair.

View the original I3P Charter

Member Institutions

The I3P consortium consists of 18 academic research centers, 5 national laboratories, and 3 nonprofit research organizations. Each member institution appoints a primary and secondary representative who attend regular consortium meetings.

Map of Member Institutions
  • Binghamton University
  • Carnegie Mellon University, H. John Heinz III College of Public Policy and Management
  • Carnegie Mellon University, Software Engineering Institute
  • Dartmouth College
  • George Mason University
  • The George Washington University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Idaho National Laboratory
  • Indiana University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • MITRE Corporation
  • New York University
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Purdue University
  • RAND Corporation
  • Sandia National Laboratories
  • SRI International
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of Idaho
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • University of Tulsa
  • University of Virginia

View the list of primary and secondary member representatives at each institution